World Premiere
31. October 2018

In cinemas March 2019

Trailer

Synopsis

The Days and the Year depicts the life and agricultural work of Gottfried and Elfie on a small farm in the Waldviertel region of Austria. Having decided in favour of ‘small-scale’ farming, the two of them have consequentially pursued this aim, always regarding their animals as living creatures and the soil as a cosmos in its own right.

The film tenaciously follows the trail of this life, dispensing with any commentary or explanation in order to build up a story of how widespread resource-destroying agricultural practices and unrestrained consumerism lead to an absurd situation and how the effects of it are felt: there is another way. The intention is to convey this impression through the film’s visual language and narrative style, very much in the sense of John Berger, whose work provided an important impulse for this film:

A sequence of images is not provided with verbal keys. If it were, then one would be forcing one single verbal meaning upon the phenomena. However, phenomena as such are ambiguous, and have several meanings. That is why the visual sense is so astonishing, and memory, which is based on the visual sense, is freer than the intellect.
John Berger / Jean Mohr, Another Way of Telling

I spent a year accompanying my two protagonists in their everyday work and life, and attempted to enter into their work processes and rhythms. This was possible through the long period available for filming and the circumstance that my ‘laboratory’, i.e. my place of work and study, is located right outside my front door. This laboratory (to continue the metaphor) confronts me personally in particular with the subject of consequentiality. How can I match the consequentiality of my protagonists’ behaviour with corresponding behaviour on my part as a filmmaker? This question and this involvement constituted the driving force behind the present film and its aesthetic orientation.

 

Con­tent


OTHMAR SCHMIDERER
DIRECTOR’S STATEMENT

The Days Like the Year is connected to earlier works. On the one hand, to Am Stein, 1998, in which I dealt with the subject of Alpine farming and the commercial exploitation of the Alps. On the other hand, to In The Moment – History and the Open, 2013, a collaborative work with Angela Summereder, which explores the relationship between human beings and animals.

continue reading ...

 

STEFAN SETTELE
NO SPECIAL LOOK — REMARKS ON OTHMAR SCHMIDERER’S FILM THE DAYS AND THE YEAR

Right at the start of this film, farmer Gottfried Neuwirth, speaking over the black screen before the opening credits, says that he thinks of himself more as a custodian of his land than as a farmer oriented towards relentlessly increasing his yield. The fact that this preliminary, isolated piece of personal information subsequently remains the only statement to be heard outside of a work context, may be regarded as programmatic for the architecture of Othmar Schmiderer’s film as a whole.

continue reading ...

 

FILM CREDITS

OTHMAR SCHMIDERER BIO/FILMOGRAPHIE

ANGELA SUMMEREDER BIO/FILMOGRAPHIE

ARTHUR SUMMEREDER BIO/FILMOGRAPHIE

SCREENINGS

 

 

31st October 2018, 4 p.m.
CineStar 8

3rd November 2018, 1.15 p.m.
CineStar 4

4th November 2018, 4.30 p.m.
Passage Kinos Astoria

Contact / Press

PRODUCTION / DISTRIBUTION
Othmar Schmiderer Filmproduktion
Kellerhausgasse 1
3484 Grafenwoerth, Österreich
M +43 (0) 676 602 8570
o.schmiderer@aon.at
www.othmarschmiderer.at

PRESS CONTACT
Ines Kratzmüller
M +43 699 12641347
ines@kratzmüller.com

PRESS DOWNLOADS

WELTURAUFFÜHRUNG
31. Oktober 2018

Ab März 2019 im Kino
 

Trailer

Synopsis

Die Tage wie das Jahr zeigt das Leben und die landwirtschaftliche Arbeit von Gottfried und Elfie auf einem kleinteiligen Gehöft im Waldviertel – Niederösterreich. Die beiden haben sich konsequent für eine „kleine“ Wirtschaftsweise entschieden, betrachten ihre Tiere als Lebewesen und den Boden als eigenen Kosmos.

Der Film heftet sich diesem Leben auf die Spur, baut ohne Kommentar und Erklärung eine Erzählung auf, die die verbreitete ressourcenzerstörende Praxis des Landwirtschaftens und ungezügelten Verbrauchens ad absurdum führt und spüren lässt: Es geht auch anders. Dieser Eindruck sollte sich über die Bildsprache und Erzählweise vermitteln, ganz im Sinn von John Berger, dessen Arbeit eine wichtige Anregung für diesen Film war:

Eine Bilderfolge bietet keinen verbalen Schlüssel an. Täte man es, so würde man den Erscheinungen eine einzige verbale Bedeutung aufnötigen. Doch Erscheinungen sind in sich vieldeutig, haben mehrere Bedeutungen. Darum ist das Visuelle so erstaunlich, ist das Gedächtnis, das auf dem Visuellen beruht, freier als der Verstand.
John Berger / Jean Mohr, Eine andere Art zu erzählen

Ich habe ein Jahr lang die Arbeit und das Leben meiner beiden Protagonisten begleitet und versucht, in deren Arbeitsprozesse und Rhythmen einzutauchen. Dies wurde möglich durch die lange Drehzeit und den Umstand, dass mein „Labor“, also mein Arbeits- und Untersuchungsort vor meiner Haustür gelegen ist. Das Labor, um bei diesem Vergleich zu bleiben, konfrontiert mich persönlich besonders mit den Themen Konsequenz. Wie kann ich der Konsequenz des Handelns meiner Protagonisten mit meinem Handeln als Filmschaffender entsprechen? Diese Frage und diese Auseinandersetzung war Triebfeder des gegenständlichen Films und seiner ästhetischen Ausrichtung.

Con­tent


OTHMAR SCHMIDERER
ÜBER DEN FILM

Die Tage wie das Jahr knüpft an frühere Arbeiten an. Zum einen an Am Stein (1998), in dem ich mich mit dem Komplex Almwirtschaft und Vermarktung der Alpen beschäftigt habe. Zum anderen an Im Augenblick – Die Historie und das Offene (2013), einer gemeinsamen Arbeit mit Angela Summereder, die das Verhältnis Mensch und Tier auslotet.

weiterlesen ...

 

STEFAN SETTELE
KEIN BESONDERER BLICK – ANMERKUNGEN ZU OTHMAR SCHMIDERERS DIE TAGE WIE DAS JAHR

Er verstehe sich, sagt Bauer Gottfried Neuwirth ganz zu Beginn, noch über den Schwarzfilm des Vorspanns gesprochen, eher als Hüter seines Landes denn als ein beharrlich auf Ertragssteigerung ausgerichteter Bauer. Dass diese vorangestellte, isolierte Selbstauskunft dann auch die einzige außerhalb eines Arbeitszusammenhangs vernehmbare Einlassung bleiben wird, darf für die Architektur des gesamten Films von Othmar Schmiderer als programmatisch gelten.

weiterlesen ...

 

FILM CREDITS

OTHMAR SCHMIDERER BIO/FILMOGRAFIE

ANGELA SUMMEREDER BIO/FILMOGRAFIE

ARTHUR SUMMEREDER BIO/FILMOGRAFIE
 

SCREENINGS

 

 

31. Oktober 2018, 16 Uhr
CineStar 8

3. November 2018, 13.15 Uhr
CineStar 4

4. November 2018, 16.30 Uhr
Passage Kinos Astoria

 

Kontakt / Presse

PRODUKTION / VERLEIH
Othmar Schmiderer Filmproduktion
Kellerhausgasse 1
3484 Grafenwoerth, Österreich
M +43 (0) 676 602 8570
o.schmiderer@aon.at
www.othmarschmiderer.at

PRESSEBETREUUNG
Ines Kratzmüller
M +43 699 12641347
ines@kratzmüller.com

PRESSE DOWNLOADS